Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

How do you pull apart leaf springs?

Old 01-07-2010, 03:15 PM
Something

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Unhappy How do you pull apart leaf springs?

Hi, I'm trying to figure out how to pull apart my rear leaf springs so that I can pack more silicone brake lubricant in between the leafs. I tried jacking up the rear end to remove the weight from the springs but they just sit there all tight together. I tried prying them apart with a pry bar wrapped in cloth (so not to scratch the rust proofing off) but they didn't want to budge much, and actually I could only do that in between the bottom two leafs any ways. Do I need to do the opposite and put a bunch of weight in the back? I've never worked on suspension components before but I catch on quickly...I think.
The reason why I want to do this is because I have the problem of when I turn sharply (especially going up and down hill) I get 1 light thump noise from the leaf springs. Also it makes the same sound if I hit a big bump causing the truck's weight to shift from side to side. Definitely not my LS diff and I really don't think it's the driveshaft as I've checked that out and it is fine. It's the stupid leaf springs. Thanks for any help everyone.
Old 01-07-2010, 03:36 PM
Ironworkers Local 771

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts