Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

Front end alignment / ball joints

Old 07-22-2009, 07:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Front end alignment / ball joints

After replacing my ball joints and taking it in for alignment, the guy that does my alignment asked if I knew which ball joint was torqued first, upper or lower. I didn't know and asked why it would matter. He said fords have a potential binding problem if the upper (i believe) is torqued first.

I was a bit taken back, but not really being a mechanic I thought I'd bring it up on this board. His concern was that it will cause premature ball joint wear and a tendency to cause the truck to veer.

Does anyone any info or experience on this fact.

Thanks.
Old 07-23-2009, 02:21 PM

I have never heard of this but that doesn't mean it couldn't be a problem. I just changed caster/camber bushings to gain some extra alignment degrees and their procedure says to (once apart) partially tighten the lower ball joint stud to 40 ftlbs then install and align the bushings then tighten the upper ball joint stud to 80-100 ftlbs and the lower ball joint stud to 95-110 ftlbs and install cotter pins- in that order.

There is a lot of experience in this forum so I'm sure if it's ever been an issue on this generation truck someone here will know about it.
RSH
Old 07-23-2009, 07:17 PM

You right about this forum, that why I brought it up… Figured somebody would be knowledgeable on this.
Sounds like the procedure you quoted does somewhat coincide with what he was implying. The guy that did the alignment is an “old timer” and is not the type to mislead. I was just a bit surprised to hear of such a thing. He suggested that I lube the joints weekly and bring the truck back in six weeks for him to check again.
Old 07-25-2009, 01:01 PM